Just when I thought there couldn’t possibly be any more new and trendy dietary plans, I end up hearing about something called the Pegan diet. I first came across this term by reading a post by Women’s Health Magazine that does a pretty great job of breaking down the components of this new diet.
Essentially, a Pegan diet is a sort of hybrid between Paleo and Vegan eating plans. If you are currently eating a Paleo or Vegan diet, or you have been considering doing so for some time now, you may want to keep on reading to learn more about the benefits that the hybrid Pegan diet may have for your health needs.
As a refresher, it’s important to remember the basic definitions of a Paleo diet and a Vegan diet. On a most basic and generalized level, a vegan dieter does not consume animal-based products. Meanwhile, the standard Paleo dieter has cut out all processed foods from their dietary plan. Something that these two dietary plans already have in common is that the main emphasis of the diet is placed on whole foods and fresh produce. The main way that a Pegan diet deviates from a Vegan diet is that it does incorporate some animal food products, so if you have been considering Veganism but would still want to keep one or two animal products (such as eggs or milk) in your diet, the Pegan eating plan may be right for you. A Pegan diet differs from the Paleo diet in that while there are animal products, there is still more of a focus on eating vegetables, which makes the Pegan diet leaner than the Paleo one.
In particular, the Pegan diet chooses to place a heavy focus on the glycemic index of various foods. The glycemic index measures a particular food’s impact on blood sugar levels in the body. Any whole food that has a glycemic index between 55 to 69 is generally good to go when it comes to Pegan food preparation. Most fruits and veggies fit into this range with no problem.
A Pegan dieter can also eat lean meat sources of protein, and will ideally consume animal products that are grass-fed and contain no antibiotics. However, many Pegan dieters tend to stay away from legumes and soy, since these foods can be difficult to break down in the stomach. Since going Pegan doesn’t mean going gluten-free, there are still plenty of options left for Pegan dieters.
This article is made available for general, entertainment and educational purposes only. The opinions expressed herein do not necessarily reflect those of The Joint Corp (or its franchisees and affiliates). You should always seek the advice of a licensed healthcare professional.